Standing Waves #15: Lecture and Concert Series with Teodora Stepančić

September 16, 2018 @ 4:00 PM – 6:00 PM
MIT Press Bookstore
301 Massachusetts Ave
Cambridge, MA 02139
MIT Press Bookstore

Join the MIT Press Bookstore for Standing Waves #15: a lecture and concert series, featuring Teodora Stepančić.

Teodora Stepančić is a composer, performer and curator based in Brooklyn.

In her compositions, Teodora explores theatrical and visual elements in music performance, cyclical and game-based musical forms, and developing works in close collaboration with individual performers.

As performer and curator, Teodora is interested in expanding the concepts of a musical concert, performance practice and audience roles, finding new ways of presenting, performing and creating music. In events she organizes, composers, performers and audience are invited into an intimate listening experience, a space for sharing sounds, ideas and music, a place for open minds and ears.

Teodora is the organizer and curator of the Piano+ and Shared Space concert series, both in Brooklyn, NY. She is co-founder of Love Collective, a group of composers/performers committed to programming and performing music rarely heard in NYC in intimate spaces and to community building. With composer Assaf Gidron, Teodora is part of a duo performing on Casio organs, sine tones, piano and cello. Together they regularly organize concerts in USA, Serbia, Israel, Germany, the Netherlands, Argentina, Iceland and wherever they travel.

As pianist Teodora is core member of Ensemble Modelo62 (the Netherlands) and collaborates with numerous new music ensembles such as Ghost Ensemble, ensemble mise-en, StudioŠest, BRock Ensemble, Asko Shoenberg, Veenfabriek, etc., and has appeared at festivals such as BBC Proms, Gaudeamus Muziek Week, Klangraum Dusseldorf, Summer Course for New Music Darmstadt, Kunstfestspiele Herrenhausen Hannover, Dag in de Branding, November Music, Zwei Tage Zeit Zürich, ORCiM Ghent, Hawler International Theater Festival Erbil. She regularly premiers new works for piano by emerging composers. She studied piano and composition at the University of Arts in Belgrade and the Royal Conservatory in The Hague.

Standing Waves is a monthly music, sound, and artist talk series with a concentration on one artist in the performance of and presentation about their work. Standing Waves is given over to a single artist for each event that allows for the performance and auditioning of their work as well as a presentation to the audience about it that makes for an intimate as well as rigorous experience, with the integrity and intention of the artist and work aligned and revealed. A distinguishing element of the series will also be a document in the form of a book that includes critical writings and photographs from the events. This comprehensive approach will elucidate the music, sound art and practices that overlap and comprise the artists’ works.

The Standing Waves lecture and concert series is offered with support from Cambridge Arts and the Massachusetts Cultural Council.

Suggested donation at the event in support of Standing Waves: $5-10.

Comments are closed.